Welcome to the PhD Program in Physics website, University of Pisa

The purpose of the PhD Program is advanced training towards frontier research, either fundamental or applied, experimental or theoretical, in a wide selection of subjects where the Physics Department of the University of Pisa and its national and international scientific partners excel at a worlwide level. The main goal of PhD students is to perform original research, achieving scientific independence with an international characterization. Research is performed under the supervision of a tutor, who is defined during the 1st year. These are the main research areas: Applied Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Condensed Matter and Plasma Physics, Experimental Elementary Particle Physics, Theoretical Physics.

Since 2018 the Program runs jointly with INFN (National Institute for Nuclear Physics). The present Coordinator is prof. M. D’Elia.

The Program is open to graduate students from any University; admittance is by public selection, usually taking place in summer, only students graduating within October can be admitted. A number of three-year grants is available each year, to be assigned to the best-ranking students in the selection; admission with no grant is also allowed for selected students. Students with a grant from national or international organizations which foresees participation to a Ph.D. program can also be admitted.

Students must follow some courses with exams during the first years, they get a small personal research budget and a 50 % increased grant for research periods spent abroad (up to 18 months), which are strongly encouraged. After 3 years, they submit a research thesis, which is refereed by independent experts and then publicly defended; after that, they are awarded the Ph.D. title.

Up to 2012, two different Programs were active, Physics and Applied Physics, which were part of the G. Galilei School of the University of Pisa. After that, the two Programs merged in the present Phd Program in Physics. Previous Coordinators: prof. D. Pisignano (2018-20), prof. M. Sozzi (2012-18), prof. K. Konishi (Physics), prof. F. Pegoraro (Applied Physics).